Lunch@Helen Browning’s Chop House

I am back at Helen Browning’s Chop House and this time I have Rock with me. We are here for lunch and the idea of a seriously good pork chop is at the front of my mind.

As we sit down to study the menu I notice the specials board and, to my dismay, at the bottom of the board there is a note saying….no pork chops! Omg. There are alternatives and to help the decision process we order some drinks – I fancy a milk stout from the Bristol Beer Factory and Rock is having an always excellent Camden Hell’s Lager.

p1010662a

Back to the specials board and I see a seasonal special – the Christmas burger. A burger with bacon, brie and cranberry. Rock has a standard Chop House burger. Both burgers are good – easily better than you get from the fast food outlets.  My Christmas burger has fabulous bacon and beautiful brie but, I’m not entirely convinced that the cranberry is something I would go for again.

I am convinced that the Bristol Beer Factory milk stout is something I would choose again and I order a second! It is full-bodied and full of flavour.

Lunch here was a pleasant experience….I just really wanted a pork chop!

Published by

WadeandRock

Wade and Rock are a UK based couple who love good food and wildlife and love travelling to find it. Wade does most, but not all, of the writing and the photography. Rock shares the eating experience and tells Wade when planned posts fall short on sense or style or taste. In the opinion of Wade (and many of our friends) she is also a fabulous baker. WadeandRockandFood mainly consists of reviews of restaurants and pubs we have recently visited. WadeandRockandWildlife and WadeandRockandPlaces are mostly photoblogs.

2 thoughts on “Lunch@Helen Browning’s Chop House”

Leave a Reply

